WiseAss Thinkers


Beating a man to death with a hammer? That’s Manhunt for ya

Author: dexjackson
Date: 29/08/2009
WiseAss Thinkers
Short Thought

Just having a look at that Manhunt 2 game that was released a couple of years ago; and blimey, that’s a game that you don’t want your kids to see… To be able to see the game for proper viewing without being edited, I took a look and saw if there were any walkthroughs for it and, of course, there were. Here’s the one I used: Manhunt Walkthrough. Watching it, I find that it is not so much as offensive, but more that it is quite gruesome. I’m aware that it’s Manhunt and is one of hardcore gore junkie games, but this seems a bit… “off” to me.

That’s not to say I’m bashing the game for being rubbish or just silly to make. Indeed, the atmosphere of the game is pitched quite well from what I watched, the characterisation of the inmates and the ordelys is done fairly and the whole scene of the escape was paced appropriately. But upon viewing the more violent scenes, such as the aptly-titled “executions”, I found that some of them were a bit “close to the kerb”, as they say. Of course, being Manhunt, it has to be gruesome or it’s not really pulling it’s weight around. However, some of them are quite disturbing but no more nasty than what is possible in real life if you’re determined to carry out the act- although the noggin’ caving was particularly horrific.

What freaks me out a little, is that the character you play – some kind of amnesia stricken patient from what I can see – seems perfectly fine about stoving people’s heads in with a hammer as though it was all part of his everyday life- with which in the game’s story, I guess it kind of is. It’s a little disturbing, though, as some of these executions are quite brutal and would make your average person quite sickly in real life. And yet after a drawn-out knock over the head, your character just calmly continues on without even throwing up or something- excluding the first couple at the start. No wonder this is a controversial game: it’s even more graphic than it’s predecessor. I just haven’t the faintest idea who enjoys this kind of game- and those YouTube comments weren’t encouraging either. Oh well, I might go further into this later- I’ll get back to you on this one…

Leave a Reply

