WiseAss Thinkers


What Do The Children Play?

Posted in Analysis,Comment,E-Culture,Gaming,Opinion,Society,xercies by xercies on 18/08/2009

Author: Xercies
Date: 18/08/2009
WiseAss Thinkers

I know gaming has come a long way, its changing day to day, but tell me What do the Children Play?

I know that seems a strange question because at this time it seems a lot of games are coming out and they soon might be recognized as a true art form. If you look more closely though at the kind of games we are championing or the major games that are being bought that question should be asked more then ever.

You see if you look at the age ratings of some of the big games are in the region of 15 to 18 which as you know no kid under 10 should really be playing. When I was younger we had so many games to choose from that we could play, there wasn’t really an ESRB back then but most companies kept the stuff in the games so kids could play it. Maybe that was because back then games were considered something a kid would do and modern times it seems that games want to get more adult. But I do think that can be a bad thing.

Gears of War A Popular Game but very violent as well

Gears of War A Popular Game but very violent as well

Children these days only really have one place to go now to get there gaming fix, and that’s Nintendo and as I said in my Casual Gaming article these games are more simple then your average game. So Children aren’t getting all the games they can want, there basically getting mini games. All the games I played when I was younger were platformers, first person shooters(if my mum let me), real time strategies, and point and click adventure games. These days children only get to do one or two of those genres and I do think there missing out what games are because of it.

Super Mario Bros An example of a game that everybody could play especially children

Super Mario Bros An example of a game that everybody could play especially children

I know gaming now a days want more adult products, want gaming to be a true art form. But I fear because of this were leaving a generation behind that could see the fun and wonder that gaming can produce.

Leave a Reply

